8-4 Play


8-4 Play 1/13/2011: NOT FOR CHILDREN UNDER 6

Live in Tokyo, do you? And you attended Nintendo’s recent 3DS event? …So you know everything there is to know about the upcoming glasses-free 3D handheld? Fine then, don’t listen to this podcast. The rest of us will tune in to hear the 8-4 crew’s full report on Nintendo World 2011, including first-hand impressions of playable games like Kid Icarus, Pilotwings, Resident Evil, etc. and thoughts on the launch lineup, bundled software, battery life, stage shows, ceiling Miyamoto, glory holes — even the friggin’ Virtual Boy fer cryin’ out loud.

Running time: 2:15:42

Direct Download (93.3 MB)
Subscribe to 8-4 Play via iTunes
Subscribe to 8-4 Play via RSS Feed
Follow 8-4 Play on Twitter (twitter.com/84play)

Time – Topic Discussed:
6:30 – Intro to Nintendo World 2011
25:54 – To 3D or Not 3D
31:10 – Hideo Kojima’s Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater 3D: The Naked Sample (A Hideo Kojima Game)
32:13 – Ridge Racer 3D
34:00 – Super Street Fighter IV 3D Edition
36:00 – Resident Evil Revelations
44:51 – Dead or Alive Dimensions
48:45 – Professor Layton and the Mask of Miracles
51:40 – nintendogs+cats
59:50 – Kid Icarus Uprising
1:07:54 – The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D
1:15:25 – Steel Diver
1:17:29 – Pilotwings Resort
1:21:16 – Bundled Software, Video-only Titles, Launch Lineup, lining up for launch
1:30:50 – Listener Feedback!
1:51:39 – Iwata Asks: History of 3D at Nintendo
2:04:36 – Closing Comments

And now…a list of music used in our previous episode!

Intro: Secret of Mana – Opening Theme
Ending: Heavy Rain – Jason/Shawn Medley

As always, you can leave comments for us at the “Leave a Comment” link below or via Twitter at @84play. And if you’re new to the show, you can subscribe to 8-4 Play on iTunes right here. Subscribe today!

Thanks for listening!